Finance Department

The Finance Department advises the Municipal Manager, Council and Department Managers on the status of the Municipality's finances and actions required to meet the Municipality's financial obligations and objectives.
The finance department (budget and treasury office) is made up of three departments - Budget, Expenditure and Revenue:

Budget and Admin

Deals with financial reporting, Capital and Operating Budget Preparation and Control
It is divided into:

Budgeting & Financial Planning

There is a Financial Clerk; as well as a position for Controller.

Assets Management

This is staffed by Controller, with two positions (for Financial Clerks) open. - Accounts Officer: Primrose Motlhabane


Supply chainDemandLogisticsStoresPayroll


This unit is divided into thee – Revenue, Metered Services and Credit Control/Debt Collections.

It is headed by Mr. Tsie Tsie and has a staff complement of 35, 21 of whom work from the Municipal Offices in Lichtenburg, and 1 each at satellite offices in Itsoseng, Itikeng, Boikhutso and Coligny, respectively. 3 of the 25 people are Controllers, and the rest are financial clerks.

There is also 1 external pay point wherein the public can make payments – Midas (Lichtenburg).

The unit provides the following services:

1. Financial Reporting
2. Capital and Operating Budget Preparation and Control
3. Payroll
4. Tax Billing and Valuations

5. Water Billing
6. Administration of Development Charges
7. Accounts Payable
8. Collection of all Accounts Receivables
9. Metered Services
10. Clearance
11. Valuation Roll
12. Answers general inquiries from ratepayers

Current key projects

service provider for implementation of GRAP 17new financial management system (BIQ)compilation of valuation roll

Credit Control

This unit deals with credit and debt control as well as indigent management issues. Its is Acting Accountant – Debtors, Ms. Magadi Loeto. Its specific responsibilities are:

Collection of outstanding money owed to the Municipality by debtorsTermination of services due to non-paymentApproval of applications for qualified low income households; when qualified households apply for free basic servicesOverseeing external credit control services providers – UMT

Valuations/Property Tax

This sub-unit is staffed by two Financial Clerks and is responsible for:

Reconciliation of valuations to BillingTransfer of properties to new ownersRegistration of subdivided propertiesConsolidationsHandle the financial part of building plans including update of sewerage points informationReceiving information about combined properties from the Deeds Office


Handles issues around property sales:

Outstanding and upfront amounts for clearance of propertiesIssues clearance figures, certificates and valuations

Department Head:

Mr. Letlhogonolo Mokoena


Who's Online

We have 178 guests and no members online

Contact Information

Ditsobotla Local Municipality
Tel: +27 18 1000 950
Fax: Fax: +27 18 632 5247
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.